A solution!

Answers to all your Interstate dilemmas!

Moderator: Wayek

BOFH
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:02 pm

A solution!

Postby BOFH » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:12 pm

Hey all, it's been a long time since I've posted, but recently I found something that will help just about everyone here who uses a router.

www.hamachi.cc

It's software that bypasses routers and creates a virtual network with computers over the internet. What does this mean? It means that once again, you can play I76 behind a router with other people running the software.

Just thought I'd let you guys know!

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Legend
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:44 pm

This sounds a lot like GIT, which requires that you play a LAN game and you try to connect to the host's UDP port that the game is broadcasted on. The problem is that there's no apparent way to find what port I'76 uses since it's a random port in a certain range and it's not known if there's any software that will tell you what program is using what port.
Of course I made this post without reading much more than the front page of the website, but I'm willing to give it more of a chance than that.

BOFH
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:02 pm

Postby BOFH » Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:58 pm

Actually, you don't need to configure it at all really. I just had a game of starcraft on it. It can also emulate IPX, so you can run I76 on a LAN game and see servers that are running on other LANs. Think of it as a VPN.

EDIT: Anyways, yeah, I figured maybe competitons could use it so people with routers wouldnt need to go through hell to get the game working :p

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Legend
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Sun Apr 09, 2006 2:58 pm

Hmm, the Hamachi logo in the installation screen is a pentagram. That's always a good sign. :P
I'd like to try a game of Interstate '76 or Nitro Pack over this to see if it works. If anyone has a Hamachi network already set up and want to try it then hit me up on one of my chat protocols.

BOFH
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:02 pm

Postby BOFH » Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:48 pm

I have one set up!

Network: sawo2
Pass: 123

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Legend
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:04 pm

I can't seem to finish the install tutorial unless I join the "test" network which for some reason is perpetually full. :(

User avatar
Lightfoot
Legend of Sorts
Posts: 1725
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Uh...

Postby Lightfoot » Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:45 pm

Just exit the tutorial...it's not a requirement to finish it...
-Lightfoot
If only you could see what I've seen...

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Legend
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:48 pm

That's what I did.
Anyway, I think that the only tinkering we need to try is with the settings of the Hamachi program itself since I think the network settings seem to be pretty well peaked up.

BOFH
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:02 pm

Postby BOFH » Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:08 pm

Have you guys had any success in getting it working with I76? If not, just wait a while for a couple of new stable versions to come out, and try again :)


Return to “Tech Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest