classic i76 blows...

Answers to all your Interstate dilemmas!

Moderator: Wayek

tetranius
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

classic i76 blows...

Postby tetranius » Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:12 pm

i have the same probs as the 'professional'
i MEMORIZED the topic between him and lightfoot, and nothing has changed i76's behavior.
i noted that it the game ONLY crashes when i suffer damage in any way, be it chassis reinforcement, or external damage. if i crash into a car...desktop, hit a blox... desktop, hit a cactus... nothing (you dont suffer damage from cacti.) i dont think sound is a problem cz the game installs, runs and plays well, and i can hear all sounds properly. the ONLY problem is suffering damage.
I:
-started with a fresh install
-disabled the sound before i tried to play both from inside the game (channels) and from my device manager.
-didnt touch the control settings
-used a copy AFTER uninstalling the original and made a link to the exe in the copied directory; the files were ALREADY in compat mode for win98.
-can hear game music before, during and after the crash.
-am not using any USB crap
-followed all the instructions that i found.
-checked the FAQ at the top of the forum and it doesnt have ANY questions about classic '76 crashing due to damage/chassis infliction
-am not sure if all the registry files are gone, though i DID successfully uninstall the original.

i did a lot of things.
is there ANYONE who can run i76 classic well?

my nitro is FLAW-F***ING-LESS offline. perfect. nitro has zero problems. classic is a bitch though.
anyone have news?
and please go easy on the canadian, eh. we're slow
Second place is the first loser

User avatar
Lightfoot [FD]
Obey
Posts: 1706
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Uh...

Postby Lightfoot [FD] » Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:05 pm

Uh...lets review:

-can hear game music before, during and after the crash.


If you can hear game music your sound card isn't disabled...(sheesh) :evil:

...and I can play either version without issue...save the whole no original ANET server support on BZ911...
-Lightfoot [FD]
This is not a democracy...

User avatar
Lightfoot [FD]
Obey
Posts: 1706
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Oh...

Postby Lightfoot [FD] » Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm

...just in case you're a complete moron and decided to play with the file permissions inside the install folder:

Right click on the folder where you copied your installation of I'76
Choose Properties
Uncheck Read Only

...try again.
-Lightfoot [FD]
This is not a democracy...

tetranius
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby tetranius » Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:27 am

oh i should have been clearer; the FIRST time, i disabled my sound card, and i was certain it was disabled. THEN after discovering that it wasnt a sound issue, i reactivated it to try other things. THATS when i heard the game music being played. and ya i did try ALL solutions; one at a time, and all at once. alternatively, i tried all combinations of solutions.


BUT ANYWAY
i still see more desktop than dashboard.
i UNchecked 'read only' in the folder properties where the copy of i76 was made, i was certain that i pressed APPLY, but no matter what, when i check the file properties again, the checkbox is shaded and checked indicating that some files are read only and some are not... maybe cz its a folder...
win xp asked me if i wanted to "unset read-only to: 'apply changes to this folder only', or 'Apply changes to this folder, subfolders and files'"
i tried both options. still crashes.

so, lightfoot, i need more wisdom and insults.
Second place is the first loser

User avatar
Ace English
Angle Grinder Man
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 4:11 am
Location: Leeds, England
Contact:

Postby Ace English » Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:55 am

I'm sure I posted a sneaky way to get i76 running with sound, but it must have been deleted/on the old board, or else I can't see for looking. You only had to disable hardware sound for one run of the game- enough to set the in game audio to something that worked, then keep a copy of the nitplayr.def or whatever from that run, and copy it over every time you want to play from then on.

I will have to experiment again.
---
www.liveforspeed.net
R Tape Loading Error

User avatar
Lightfoot [FD]
Obey
Posts: 1706
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Uh...

Postby Lightfoot [FD] » Tue Aug 09, 2005 9:14 am

OK, so now you're a cracker jack technician and KNOW it's not a sound issue... :evil: ...I'm half tempted to keep insulting you or just banning your ass to keep you from wasting any more of my time.

How about you try following ALL my steps, in order, without adjusting, or modifiying them or assuming think you know what the problems is...

If you knew what the problem was you could fix it, right?

(moron)

...and don't give me that "Professional" load of crap that says you tried them all independently and then all at once together because if you had acutally figured out how to follow all the steps, as dictated, you'd be playing.
-Lightfoot [FD]
This is not a democracy...

tetranius
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby tetranius » Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:36 pm

i did follow all the steps as dictated,
once you gave more steps to follow, i began with a fresh install and started from scratch.
THEN i dicked around trying other things, i dont remember calling myself a "professional," if anything in the first post, it wasnt reffrering to my skill, it was reffering to that loser that you banned a while back: "The Professional." that guy. i put it in quotes cz he's far from a pro
oh well f*** it. nitro's ok for now
Second place is the first loser

User avatar
Lightfoot [FD]
Obey
Posts: 1706
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Yeah...

Postby Lightfoot [FD] » Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:50 pm

...you ARE a moron... :x

If you followed ALL the steps laid out for you on this board, Interstate '76 would run...no questions asked.

With your USB devices disconnected, the audio card disabled, the video mode reset to native XP 640X480 and the game running from a copy of the installation directory with the read-only file permissions reset there is ABSOLUTELY no reason for it not to run...

You're BYPASSING the entire 32-bit subsystem and running as a basic 16-bit application with no audio, video or non-25 pin controller support . If it doesn't work YOU have done something wrong.

Good luck trying to find someone else to help you though I hear "The Professional" is available over at the BBB board.
-Lightfoot [FD]
This is not a democracy...

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Vigilante
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:28 pm

tetranius wrote:i UNchecked 'read only' in the folder properties where the copy of i76 was made, i was certain that i pressed APPLY, but no matter what, when i check the file properties again, the checkbox is shaded and checked indicating that some files are read only and some are not... maybe cz its a folder...
win xp asked me if i wanted to "unset read-only to: 'apply changes to this folder only', or 'Apply changes to this folder, subfolders and files'"
i tried both options. still crashes.

You have to find exactly which files are read only and change them to . . . not read only. For some reason XP is a nuisance like that.

tetranius
Trunk Monkey
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby tetranius » Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:51 pm

i doublecheked the files individually, they were all UNchecked.
Second place is the first loser


Return to “Tech Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest