running nitro behind a router

Answers to all your Interstate dilemmas!

Moderator: Wayek

User avatar
Diamond
Vigilante
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 5:18 pm
Contact:

Postby Diamond » Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:49 pm

Thanks LF, I'll keep you guys posted.

User avatar
Lightfoot
Legend of Sorts
Posts: 1725
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

OK...

Postby Lightfoot » Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:37 pm

Now that we're actually talking about a probability that someone might look into this, don't forget to point them to http://www.kegel.com/anet for additional documentation.

Remember, we're not going to get any help implementing a server side fix until we can host our own ANET box...(hint, hint)
-Lightfoot
If only you could see what I've seen...

Magnum |HH|
Vigilante
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: West michigan

Postby Magnum |HH| » Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:37 pm

Do any Interstate players have the original BATTLEZONE?Those guys that run the server do it so they can play that,there are more people playing that than Interstate.I have BZ2 but not the original.

User avatar
Diamond
Vigilante
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: OK...

Postby Diamond » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:12 pm

Lightfoot [FD] wrote:Now that we're actually talking about a probability that someone might look into this, don't forget to point them to http://www.kegel.com/anet for additional documentation.

Remember, we're not going to get any help implementing a server side fix until we can host our own ANET box...(hint, hint)


about a box... my Call of Duty clan runs a Linux box. ATM, we're running a public server and a match server, which either really takes up much bandwidth these days since our competetiveness has ghosted. Besides, if I uploaded I76/Nitro to it, it wouldn't take up much bandwidth and all considering the fact it's such a small game and we only play it once or twice a week. But... I don't know much about hosting servers for video games, do you think I76 would work on it?

User avatar
Lightfoot
Legend of Sorts
Posts: 1725
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Southwest
Contact:

Hmm...

Postby Lightfoot » Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:09 am

If memory serves me...the ANET system needs a static, public IP and a 333 MHz processor to run it...

I'd drop the guys at BZ911 a line and ask them...they'd be the ones to know...
-Lightfoot
If only you could see what I've seen...

User avatar
KIV 6051 [SH]
Legend
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:53 pm
Contact:

Postby KIV 6051 [SH] » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:41 pm

Well I think technically all four of them in the "dll" folder, but the more important ones are WINETS2.DLL and WMODEM2.DLL since it is either the primary internet dll or it's the "host by IP" dll, which is broke. The only advice I can give you is run WinDiff, which is a utility found in the Windows 98 Resource Kit which comes with Windows 98 on the CD, and look at the difference between the original Interstate '82 dll files and the new ones so that it may give you a clue as what needs to change. A hexadecimal editor would probably be better, but I wouldn't know what to do.
The other reason I think they both need to be rewritten is because there were two that needed to be rewritten for Interstate '82 (all both of them) so they may both need to be tweaked for Nitro Pack.


Return to “Tech Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest