DSL Question

Answers to all your Interstate dilemmas!

Moderator: Wayek

Junkin Bones
Skag
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:22 pm
Location: Mississippi

DSL Question

Postby Junkin Bones » Thu Feb 12, 2004 9:15 pm

I just got DSL yesterday for the 1st time. Since this is my 1st experience with it, I know nothing about it. With that said....

I tried to join the TNE several times tonight and after about 15 seconds I would get booted. Does anyone have any ideas on what could be wrong. Someone said I need to disable my dial-up adapter. Since I've only had dial up, I've never had any reason to disable it.

Can anybody maybe explain how to do this, I don't feel comfortable experimenting with it. I could probably really screw things up LOL.

BTW, I'm running Win98 and my puter works fine connecting to other games BF1942, Nascar thunder etc.

Any help will be apreciated

JB

User avatar
Fnork
4 8 15 16 23 42
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:34 pm
Location: P3X-888

Postby Fnork » Thu Feb 12, 2004 9:40 pm

Are you using a router of some sort?

If yes, try bypassing it or disabling it when trying to play Nitro.


If that doesn't work or isn't an option, post up some more info about your system and network settings, and someone else might be able to help you out.

User avatar
tex [FD]
Legend of Sorts
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: texas
Contact:

Postby tex [FD] » Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:11 pm

seems like something like this.
run msconfig and go check something there may help you.
click start, run, then type msconfig.

that and what fnork just said
more God, hot sauce, and rock and roll.
thats all i need !!
Lotties rules........yellow

Junkin Bones
Skag
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 10:22 pm
Location: Mississippi

Postby Junkin Bones » Mon Feb 16, 2004 8:54 pm

Thanks FN and Tex,

I think I may have the problem solved, not sure though because I havent really tested it yet. I'm not using a router, just a simple DSL modem connected to my USB port. I will try it again thursday nite and if you see me dissappear over and over again then you'll know I'm still having problems.

I'm not giving up and I will keep tweaking it until I figure it out. I'm just way behind in this technology because I live in the sticks LOL.

Thanks again,
JB

User avatar
tex [FD]
Legend of Sorts
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: texas
Contact:

git on it........

Postby tex [FD] » Mon Feb 16, 2004 9:47 pm

why dont you ask someone to test with you? then you sould be ready for TNE !!!!!!!!!!

if you see me on icq, ill be glad to test.

22841551



over........
more God, hot sauce, and rock and roll.

thats all i need !!

Lotties rules........yellow


Return to “Tech Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest